The Oklahoma City Thunder and the Denver Nuggets fell short in their quest for the NBA title this year, yet both teams’ star players were deservedly rewarded for their consistent play over the course of the regular season.

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander and Nikola Jokic were both unanimous inclusions in this year’s All-NBA First Team, marking the first time since 2020 (LeBron James and Giannis Antetokounmpo) that two players achieved this distinction in the same season.

Jokic, who was also named the NBA Most Valuable Player for the third time in his career this season, returns to the All-NBA First Team after being bumped off by Joel Embiid last year. This mark’s Jokic’s fourth appearance on this prestigious team.

Meanwhile, this is the 25-year-old Gilgeous Alexander’s second year in a row on the All-NBA First Team and he was also the runner up behind Jokic in the 2024 NBA MVP race.

Joining these two on the All-NBA First Team are Luka Doncic of the Dallas Mavericks, the Milwaukee Bucks’ Giannis Antetokounmpo, and Jayson Tatum of the Boston Celtics.

Doncic, whose Dallas Mavericks currently lead the Minnesota Timberwolves 1-0 in the Western Conference Finals, was actually just one vote away from becoming a unanimous selection as well. This marks his fifth consecutive All-NBA First Team honor which would have been the longest active streak in the league if not for Antetokounmpo’s six straight selections.

The All-NBA Second Team is led by the New York Knicks’ Jalen Brunson who earned 37 first place votes and 61 second place votes. The other four players who are on the second team are Anthony Edwards of the Minnesota Timberwolves and a trio of older players in the Phoenix Suns’ Kevin Durant, Kawhi Leonard of the Los Angeles Clippers, and the Los Angeles Lakers’ Anthony Davis.

Rounding out this year’s All-NBA selections are the third team members headlined by the 39-year-old LeBron James of the Lakers who has now made it to 20 All-NBA Teams. The Golden State Warriors’ two-time NBA MVP Stephen Curry is also a third-teamer along with Domantas Sabonis of the Sacramento Kings, the Indiana Pacers’ Tyrese Haliburton, and Devin Booker of the Suns.

Other players who received votes for the All-NBA teams include the Celtics’ Jaylen Brown, Paul George of the Clippers, the Philadelphia 76ers’ Tyrese Maxey, this year’s NBA Defensive Player of the Year Rudy Gobert of the Utah Jazz, and NBA Rookie of the Year Victor Wembanyama of the San Antonio Spurs. Zion Williamson, Paolo Banchero, De’Aaron Fox, and Bam Adebayo also received votes.

The fact that players as talented as these were not able to make it to this year’s All-NBA teams only highlights the depth of the league today. It only proves that the NBA is in good hands and that the future is definitely a bright one.